Ledbury Primary School

Determined to Succeed

  • Translate
  • Search

Nursery Curriculum

At Little Wrens Nursery we follow the curriculum for the Early Years Foundation Stage, which is divided into seven areas of learning:

· personal, social and emotional development

· communication and language

· physical development

· literacy

· mathematics

· understanding of the world

· expressive arts and design.


Whilst all areas of learning and development are important and interconnected, three areas are particularly crucial for igniting children’s curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, and for building their capacity to learn, form relationships and thrive. These three areas, the prime areas, are:

· personal, social and emotional development

· communication and language

· physical development.

We are very lucky to be able to learn through using Forest School.

All year the children will be able to explore Forest School as Emma, our Nursery teacher, is a qualified Forest School leader.



Phonics in Nursery


At Little Wrens, we support children to develop their listening and sound discriminations skills. We do this by playing lots of listening games, playing musical instruments, singing, learning simple rhymes and generally having fun with sounds. This learning build the foundations of the phonics learning that children will do in Reception and Year 1. There is more information about this early phonics learning in the document below.

For any paper copies requests for any of the documents on the website free of charge, please contact the school office.